Imagine Your Gallery Here

Dallas Museum of Art Announces New Officers and Trustees

From Press Release

In elections held yesterday by the Board of Trustees of the Dallas Museum of Art, Deedie Potter Rose was named Chairman. Mrs. Rose is a longtime trustee and former President (1994-98) of the Museum. Well known and admired for her passionate engagement with the Museum for two decades, her many contributions include significant benefaction, membership on the leadership team of the past two endowment campaigns, and leadership of the Art Challenge with the Hoffmans and Rachofskys from 2001 to 2005. Deedie Rose joined the DMA Board of Trustees in 1988. John R. Eagle, President and CEO of John Eagle Dealerships, continues in his role as President of the Dallas Museum of Art.

Mrs. Rose succeeds Walter B. Elcock, Executive Vice President, Bank of America, who is retiring as Chairman of the DMA’s Board of the Trustees. He recently assumed a new national role with Bank of America with increased business demands. Prior to assuming the Chairmanship, Mr. Elcock served for four years as President of the Museum. He and his wife Laura are deeply committed to the DMA, and he will continue to serve on the Board as a former Chairman.

“As Chairman of the Board, Walter Elcock led the charge for institutional advancement with passion, intelligence, and dedication,” said Mr. Eagle. “His energy, loyalty, and prescience helped vault the Dallas Museum of Art to a leading American museum. Deedie Rose and I look forward to his continued engagement as a valued member of the Board of Trustees as we collectively endeavor to fortify the DMA and make a difference in our community.”

Newly elected officers of the DMA Board, all of whom will serve a two-year term, include Vice Presidents Mary McDermott Cook and Cindy Rachofsky; Secretary Linda Kao and Treasurer Victor D. Almeida.

The Officers Nominating Committee was composed of John Eagle, Jeremy Halbreich, Tim Hanley, Marguerite Hoffman, and Harvey Mitchell.

The following 19 individuals were nominated and elected to serve as trustees for a three-year term at the 2009 Annual Membership Meeting. The Trustee Nominating Committee was chaired by Cindy Rachofsky.

Christopher Bancroft, Daniel D. Boeckman, Eduardo M. Brittingham, Yolanda Bruce Brooks, Clint D. Carlson, Peter J. Denker, Claire Dewar, Melissa Foster Fetter, Jeremy L. Halbreich, Bryant M. Hanley, Jr., Kenneth A. Hersh, Wei Wei Jeang, Venu Menon, Thomas Morgan, Margot B. Perot, Richard R. Pollock, Daniel Routman, Ronald G. Steinhart, Derek M. Wilson.

Those members who, with the Museum’s great thanks for their service, completed their elected terms at the final Board Meeting of the season include:

Naomi D. Aberly; Garrett Boone; J. E. R. “Bob” Chilton; Vernon E. Faulconer; Harvey R. Mitchell; Jessie Price; Catherine M. Rose; Marilyn Hailey, DMA League President; Abigail Sinwell, DMA Associates Forum Co-Chair; Rachel and Christopher Trowbridge, DMA Junior Associates Co-Chairs.

About Dallas Art News

Dallas Art News is art news, reviews, calendars, museums and galleries for Dallas, Fort Worth and around Texas.

Comments are closed.