Imagine Your Gallery Here

Dallas Museum of Art Announces Annual Awards to Artists Applications Now Open

The Dallas Museum of Art is now accepting applications for its 2010 Awards to Artists program. The Museum’s annual awards were established in 1980 by The Clare Hart DeGolyer Memorial Fund and the Arch and Anne Giles Kimbrough Fund to recognize exceptional talent and potential in young visual artists who show a commitment to continuing their artistic endeavors. The Clare Hart DeGolyer Memorial Fund is awarded to artists between 15 and 25 years of age who reside in Texas, Oklahoma, New Mexico, Arizona or Colorado, while The Arch and Anne Giles Kimbrough Fund is open to residents of Texas under the age of 30. The two funds have awarded over $400,000 to artists since their founding.

In 1990, The Otis and Velma Davis Dozier Travel Grant was created to honor the memory of Dallas artists Otis and Velma Dozier, who strongly believed in the enriching influence of travel on an artist’s work. The grant seeks to recognize exceptional talent in professional artists who wish to expand their artistic horizons through domestic or foreign travel and is awarded to professional artists at least 30 years of age who reside in Texas. Since the fund’s development, The Otis and Velma Davis Dozier Travel Grant has given over $120,000.

Award recipients are selected by a special committee composed of Dallas Museum of Art staff and art pro­fessionals that may include curators, critics, collectors and artists. Applications must be postmarked no later than March 15, 2010.

Awards to Artists grants have been awarded to more than 215 recipients, many of whom have gone on to successful careers within North Texas and across the country. Over the years, the DMA has acquired works from many of the artists who have received awards from the DeGolyer, Kimbrough and Dozier funds. DeGolyer artists include Jeff Elrod, Misty Keasler and Robyn O’Neil. Kimbrough artists include David Bates, Trenton Doyle Hancock, Melissa Miller, Robert Pruitt, Michael Miller, Erick Swenson and Kelli Connell. Dozier artists include Helen Altman, Annette Lawrence, Margaret Meehan, Ted Kincaid, Scott Barber, Joseph Havel, Katrina Moorhead, Johnny Robertson, Ludwig Schwarz and John Pomara.

Each recipient is invited to speak about his or her work in a series of artist talks scheduled for the evening of Thursday, May 20, 2010. Following the talks, the program culminates in a reception celebrating the artists’ achievements.

To secure an application, please visit the following link: For any inquiries, contact Erin Murphy, Curatorial Administrative Assistant, Contemporary Art and Decorative Arts and Design, at 214-922-1334 or

About the Dallas Museum of Art

Located in the vibrant Arts District of downtown Dallas, Texas, the Dallas Museum of Art (DMA) ranks among the leading art institutions in the country and is distinguished by its innovative exhibitions and groundbreaking educational programs. At the heart of the Museum and its programs are its encyclopedic collections, which encompass more than 24,000 works and span 7,000 years of history, representing a full range of world cultures. Established in 1903, the Museum today welcomes more than 700,000 visitors annually and acts as a catalyst for community creativity, engaging people of all ages and backgrounds with a diverse spectrum of programming, from exhibitions and lectures to concerts, literary readings, and dramatic and dance presentations.

The Dallas Museum of Art is supported in part by the generosity of Museum members and donors and by the citizens of Dallas through the City of Dallas/Office of Cultural Affairs and the Texas Commission on the Arts.

About Press Release

A press release on Dallas Art News is a post provided by a museum, gallery, venue, event or artist. The content of the press release does not usually change, but it is styled and formatted to fit our site.

Comments are closed.