Imagine Your Gallery Here

Advisory Committee Includes Community in Arts of Collin County Project Planning

Representatives of Arts, Education and Community Work Together For the Arts of Collin County

Collaboration is at the heart of the arts park and performing arts hall project planned for the Arts of Collin County. From the start, hundreds of volunteers came together with a vision for a significant cultural space to be shared among the entire region.

The Arts of Collin County includes volunteers’ at all levels of the organization. One such group is the Advisory Committee, comprised of 19 appointed representatives that serve 2 year terms with no term limits. The terms alternate so each year there is a balance of members with previous committee experience and new appointees. Their backgrounds include fine arts education, nonprofit arts organization leaders, facility management, elected officials and active community volunteers. The primary role is to provide input on the planning, policies and programming of the facility and to be the voice of various community interests in this process. During the design and fundraising phase, the Advisory Committee has provided feedback on the design of the arts hall and park as well as development of the buy a seat and paver program, marketing materials and served as volunteers at fundraising and community events. The committee meets bi-monthly at the Arts of Collin County office with Buzz Kolbe, Advisory Committee Chair and Executive Director Mike Simpson.

The committee is appointed by the Arts of Collin County Board of Directors. The 19 members are comprised of 1 representative from each Owner and Member city, Collin County, a representative from each Owner City School District of Allen, Frisco and Plano, Collin College, an arts organization from each Owner city, 2 At-large members from each Owner city and 1Ex-Officio Representative of the Board.

The current Advisory Committee listed below has renewed for another term.

  • Debbie Stout, City of Allen
  • To Be Appointed, City of Frisco
  • Lissa Smith, City of Plano
  • Aaron Chowning, City of Melissa
  • Stephen Arnold, Town of Fairview
  • Matt Shaheen, Collin County Commissioner
  • Anthony Gibson, Director of Fine Arts, Allen Independent School District
  • Dr. Daryl Trent, Director of Fine Arts Frisco Independent School District
  • Ms. Kathy Kuddes, Director of Fine Arts, Plano Independent School District
  • Dr. Gaye Cooksey, Dean of Fine Arts, Collin College
  • Stefanie Best, Allen arts groups
  • Julie Daniels, Frisco arts groups
  • Alice Hobbs, Plano, arts groups
  • Cherie Fruehan, At large – Allen
  • Kathy Litinas, At large – Allen
  • Rhonda Martin, At Large – Frisco
  • Terry McCracken, At large – Frisco
  • Buzz Kolbe, At Large – Plano (Chairperson)
  • Barbara Buehler, At Large – Plano
  • Dr. Betty Bell Muns, Ex Officio Representative

About The Arts of Collin County

The Arts of Collin County (ACC) is a nationally recognized, innovative, public-private partnership to develop a 100+ acre arts park. Co-owned by the cities of Allen, Frisco and Plano, with operational support by member cities, Fairview and Melissa, the development of the arts park is supported with $57 million in bond monies, up to $3 million in Collin County Open Space Grant funds, and financial support from private individuals, corporations and foundations. Located at Sam Rayburn Tollway/ 121 just east of Custer Road at Exchange Parkway, the arts park will be completed in phases, with a 2,100-seat performing arts hall, sculpture garden, performance meadow, and hike and bike trails included in Phase One. To contribute, view the virtual tour of the project and learn more, visit or call 214-495-5810.

About Press Release

A press release on Dallas Art News is a post provided by a museum, gallery, venue, event or artist. The content of the press release does not usually change, but it is styled and formatted to fit our site.

Comments are closed.