Imagine Your Gallery Here

Art Selection Committee to Create Art Master Plan

Representatives of Public Art, Curators and Collectors to Guide Art Selection for the Arts Park, Visual Art Gallery and Performing Arts Hall

Since the Arts of Collin County Board appointed the art selection committee in fall of 2010, the group has met to begin developing an Art Master Plan for selecting and placing new pieces of art throughout the project in; the outdoor sculpture garden, meadow, entrances, trails and interior spaces of the performing arts center such as; the lobbies, learning room, donor room, classroom and visual art gallery.

One idea involved creating a local artist theme that would connect with the Texas landscape and architecture while providing a venue for local artists to be showcased. Other discussions included procedures for art procurement, proposed donated art review process, installations on the site and encouraging on-going acquisition of artwork. All of these tasks will be part of a specific Arts Master Plan and Art Implementation Plan that when completed will be presented for adoption by the Arts of Collin County Commission Board of Directors.

The Committee also wants to establish a process for public involvements in creating the Art Master Plan. At it’s February meeting they will begin to map out the process and a timeline.

About the Art Selection Committee

Membership includes professionals in public art, private art collections and curators. There are seven voting members and one non-voting member. The committee members are appointed by the Arts of Collin County Commission Board of Directors with terms of three years with no term limits. Meetings will be held as needed throughout the year.

This makeup of this committee continues to demonstrate that collaboration is at the heart of the arts park and performing arts hall project planned by the Arts of Collin County.


  • Arts Patron/Donor – Janice Brittingham
  • Professional Curator – Professor Luke Sides, Collin College
  • Public Art Manager – Lori Smeby, City of Allen
  • Public Art Manager – Richard Oldham, City of Frisco
  • Public Art Manager – Ron Smith, City of Plano
  • Member Arts of Collin County Board of Directors – Betty Muns and Charles Nies
  • Non-Voting:
  • Arts of Collin County Executive Director – Mike Simpson

About The Arts of Collin County

The Arts of Collin County (ACC) is a nationally recognized, innovative, public-private partnership to develop a 100+ acre arts park. Co-owned by the cities of Allen, Frisco and Plano, with operational support by member cities, Fairview and Melissa, the development of the arts park is supported with $57 million in bond monies, up to $3 million in Collin County Open Space Grant funds, and financial support from private individuals, corporations and foundations. Located at Sam Rayburn Tollway/ 121 just east of Custer Road at Exchange Parkway, the arts park will be completed in phases, with a 2,100-seat performing arts hall, sculpture garden, performance meadow, and hike and bike trails included in Phase One. To contribute, view the virtual tour of the project and learn more, visit or call 214-495-5810.

About Press Release

A press release on Dallas Art News is a post provided by a museum, gallery, venue, event or artist. The content of the press release does not usually change, but it is styled and formatted to fit our site.

Comments are closed.